The Search For a Cheap Alternative to the Aimpoint Micro

I love the Aimpoint Micro. I bought 2 several years ago. At the time $400 seemed like an exorbitant price for a red-dot scope, but I expected they would be high quality and last a very long time. I have not been disapointed. I’d like to get a couple more, but now they are $650, so I decided to look around and see what I could find.

Options

I started my search at OpticsPlanet.com. They have always had reasonable prices and first rate customer service and the website is not blocked at work like most of the shooting related sites.

I started by clicking on any scopes that looked small like the Aimpoint Micro. I came up with 14 candidates, plus Aimpoint and Ultra-Dot for comparison and collected info about each, resulting in this Excel spreadsheet.

table snapshot

Click to Download Spreadsheet

I am intrigued by the Sig Sauer and Styrka brand scopes, however there are two things that make me hesitant, no options for sun-shades and they both have automatic shutoff.

Sun-Shades I don’t have extension tubes on my Aimpoints, but I like that some people are offering them (if anyone has a link I’ll be glad to add it here) and I may try them at some point.

Auto-Shutoff I don’t want auto-shutoff. Bullseye matches last all day. The last thing I want is the dot turning off in the middle of a string. I could get in the habit of pushing a button before each string, but that seems unproductive; I want to be thinking about the shot, not the dot. The Sig scopes have a feature that detects movement and turns back on. I may try one eventually, but if raising the gun doesn’t turn it on, it will go back to the seller. The Styrka scope list 1 hour as the shutoff time. If this is adjustable to longer delay time it might be acceptable, but I decided to try some of the others first.

Results

After reviewing all the options I placed the order for Holosun 403GL, Konus Sight-Pro Atomic 2.0 and Barska AC11428. I will post reviews of each of them over the next few weeks or months as time allows.


Holosun 403GL

hs403gl_1-500x500

$235 List Price, $200 from Optics Planet and many online shops (as of August, 2016)

The Holosun looks like a good copy of the Aimpoint. At $170-250 they cost more than the cheap Chinese copies but still cost a lot less than an Aimpoint. At first I was put-off by the automatic shutoff, but it is listed as 8 hours, so it might be OK.

See my initial review of the Holosun here.


Konus Sight-Pro Atomic 2.0

7200

$100 from Optics Planet and other online shops (as of August, 2016)

The Konus can display either a red dot or a green dot. I thought this might be interesting. I don’t have any problems with a red dot, I’ve used them for years, but it will be interesting to see if I light a green dot. I have a Konus Rifle scope and I’ve seen a few Konus spotting scopes. They are cheap, but useable. Definitely lower quality in terms of machining and fit-and-finish, but they haven’t fallen apart. The optics are OK, not great, but not terrible. I figured it was worth a try. We’ll see if it turns out to be a Hyundai or a Yugo. Plus, how cool will it be to tell my friends I have a “Sight-Pro Atomic 2.0!”

Unfortunately I was unable to mount the Konus scope on a Weaver rail, so I have not published a review of it, but just about everything I say about the Barska scope is true of the Konus as well.


Barska AC11428

opplanet-barska-ac11428

$88 List Price, $80 from Optics Planet and other online shops (as of August, 2016)

Everything I said about Konus is also true about Barska, except I don’t own one, this is only a red dot and I am not going to brag about my cool new “AC11428!”.

See my initial review of the Barska scope here.

Leave a Reply

